Dining room with finished light.

When I inserted this photo of my dining room I did so to show what the chandelier looked like in the finished room.  I had added crystal prisms to it that were attached with small but tenacious magnets.  You can read the post before this one to see how to order the magnets.  But, the most responses that I have had are about the color of the dining room.  It is Benjamin Moore Paint and is called, “Palladian Blue.”  The number of it is HC-144.  This means that is is an historic color. Apparently our colonial forefathers liked blue, too.  In fact, in the blog www.houseoftourquoise.com, it is mentioned that in the September issue of House Beautiful, thousands of people were surveyed and blue is the number one color followed by green in second place.

Here is a close-up of the light fixture.  Prisms were added by using small but tenacious magnets from www.cristalier.com.  You can purchase prisms in any color or you can buy prisms by the foot.  I bought the smallest magnets that they offered and hung prisms that I already had and some that I ordered from the company.  I also bought 3 feet of crystal beads and made a swag.  Before you order, be sure that a regular household magnet will adhere to your light.  Magnets will not stick to brass.

I loved this Palladian Blue so much that I put it in the downstairs guest bedroom.

Here is a look at the same furniture and same linen in the last house.  The walls there were a kind of putty green.  The house had this color on the wall when we bought it and I just never got around to changing it. What do you think?

In fact, I have tourquoise accents all over my house.  That may be a post for another day.  Here are som beautiful images of tourquoise rooms done by professional decorators. The first is the gorgeous home office space by designer mary MacDonald.

Who couldn’t be creative in this space? Where are the papers and cords, and other office mess that I have around me right now?

A wonderful blog is www.velvetandlinen.com  The author is Brooke Gianetti and she has some wonderful tourquoise in her own home.

   I could look at this room all day.  It is so soothing…like looking out at the ocean.  I was so inspired that I tried to do a painting based upon Brooke’s husband’s original artwork.

Another gorgeous Brooke room:

Can’t decidew, but I think that it may be toooo blue for even me.  Still, I admire it so much.

I am not sure who did this next room, but I love it all the same.  Note how the sea grass carpet represents the sand, and the upholstery is the blue of the sea and then there is white to make it all pop and represent the fluffy white clouds.  Of course we have sea shell accents.  Go find something blue for your home.  Create and be happy!

