Chances are that sometime you have torn pictures from magazines and started some kind of a folder that has ideas.   Maybe you want to redecorate or maybe you are going to build.  Going through magazines for photos is the best way to see what you really like.  I have asked people to do this exercise just to see what their likes are.  Maybe they think that they are fans of traditional design, but their photos all have contemporary furniture.
I was going through the largest home decor web site on the market last night.  It is www.houzz.com.  There are an amazing 638,671 photographs on the site.  You can browse by style like Asian, contemporary, traditional, etc.  Or, you can browse by space like bathroom, closet, family room, etc. There is an opportunity to put your favorites in an electronic scrapbook called the “Ideabook.”  You can learn how much certain pieces in a photo cost and you can read articles writted by professional designers.  It is addicting.
As I looked at it, I noticed that I was gravitating to the same kind of kitchen each time.  They all had white cabinets.  Now, there is nothing wrong with dark cabinets.  I am a huge fan of cherry wood, and rich mahogany.  However, for my kitchen, I prefer white painted cabinets.
I thought that today you might enjoy just looking at some beautiful rooms.  Here are a few of the ones that I thought were especially pretty.
Of course the ceiling is the star of the show in this first kitchen. The gleaming hardwood floors and stainless steel appliances add sparkle.  Notice the shelf over what I believe is the doorway on the right.  This is usually wasted space.
The beadboard, arched window over the sink, carriage lights over the island make for a sort of cottage white kitchen.  Again, we see the gleaming hardwood floors.  The pallete is neutral with blue hydrangias for a real pop of color.  Notice that the cabinet knobs, the light fixture and the faucets are all of the same metal, hand rubbed bronze.
If you need for your cabinets to have a new color, why not spray paint them in a bronze?
Kitchen traditional kitchen
In a perfect world, I would have carerra marble on my kitchen island.  I love the look of it…to me it is just so beautiful.  Alas!  Everything that I have read says that it can etch very easily.  Those who have it think that the marks that it develops adds “character.”  That would just worry me.  Still, I love this kitchen because of the traditional marble and the soft green tile on the far wall.  This would be a very restful kitchen and over the top beautiful.
San Jose Res 2 traditional kitchen

I don’t know if the star of the show in this house is the ocean in the background or the gorgeous cabinets, arched window, bead board ceiling, or the “L” shaped island.  The
refrigerator is hidden behind custom doors…again hardwood was chosen for the floors.
The island is natural wood to match the beams but the cabinets are white.  I think that this is a great look and satisfies the natural wood lover in all of us.
Kitchen traditional kitchen

This must be an open plan kitchen.  Notice the lovely chairs with their backs to the kitchen island.  Again, there is marble on the island, or is it granite? I learned the other day that they are mining certain types of granite that look like white and gray marble.  That would be the way to go.   Beauty meets serviceability!  I could also see crystal chandelier light fixtures over this gorgeous island!  Notice the shiny white subway tile backsplash.
 Villanova Residence - kitchen traditional kitchen

While this is not a photo of cabinets, I wanted to include it because this breakfast area is so inviting.  Love the wicker chairs.  Even the palmetto frond adds great texture and style to the table.  I’ll bet that this is a part of a white kitchen!
This last kitchen is unique because of the placement of the bench on one side of the island.  If you are short on space, this would be a great way to go!  Love the full size table lamp on the island and the stainless steel double pendant light fixture.  I think that the walls are a soft gray….been wanting to try this in my own kitchen, but for now I think that I am too lazy to paint!  Notice how all but one of the kitchens pictured has a green plant or something that is living.  Green plants really look great in white kitchens.
Pinned Image
You don’t have to get out of your chair to create…you can look at beautiful pictures all day long.  Create and be happy!
