Pumpkins, photographed in Canada.

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Soon it will be time for pumpkins and Thanksgiving dinner.  I thought that I would take a few minutes to inspire myself and inspire you to do some fall decorating.  I always have to talk myself into this….to me it is not as much fun as decorating for Christmas.  But, take a look at this front porch.  Isn’t it nice!  Mums, pumpkins, corn stalks, orchard baskets…really nice!

Now, if you have a wreath for the front door hanging in the garage, then you will surely go get it and put it on the front door.  But, if you want to take this to a higher level, here are some ideas.  The first one uses magnolia leaves as a base.  More than likely, they were tied into bundles and then wired to the grapevine wreath form.  They all must face the same direction and when all of the vine is covered, you are finished. Then, you can hot glue or wire feathers, dried hydrangia, magnolia seed pods, and other dried materials.  My daughter has a huge magnolia tree…think I may have to try this.  I also see some wheat.  Any dried natural material should look great.

Now, maybe you have an existing wreath but you want to spiff it up a bit.  Buy a wooden letter, paint it to match the wreath, and suspend it in the center of your wreath.  Monograms are always nice.  This is just a grapevine wreath with a silk garland attached to it and then the wooden letter is hung in the middle from wire ribbon.  Very attractive.  Something to think about is that the letter might bang against the door when it is opened or closed.  Buy one of those packs of felt circles and stick it to the back of the letter to make for silence.

Shimmery Fall Wreath traditional entry

You have seen these wreaths in your big box craft stores.  They are very sculptural and perfect for fall.  You could make or buy your bow, add the silk pheasant feathers and some fruit…how easy is that!

So I went to my archive which is a manilla folder filled with ideas ripped from magazines and found this cover from November of 2004.  I just love the alabaster jar with the pheasant feathers, the pears and pinecones.  Notice the old beveled mirrors in the background and the pussy willows.  This image stuck with me and one day I was at a garage sale and saw a nice white pot.  It was not alabaster, but close enough.
So I bought it and went to another store to purchase some feathers.  I took it home, and put the feathers down inside of the pot in a glass frog.  A frog is put in vases to hold flowers in place. Who says that it cannot hold feathers?  I styled it today with some pears, one lonely pinecone (will get more) and my old beveled mirror.  The location of this is between two switch plates…not my favorite.  But for now, this is how it looks:
  
I plan to get more pine cones, and look for a mirror to hold the whole display like on the magazine cover.  Then, I went to the garage and found my front door fall wreath.  I made two of them several years ago for the double entry doors at the last house.  IIt was easily made from  a grapevine wreath, silk leaves, and a bow.  I used a paddle of green florist wire to put it all together.  I think that I now need to add pumpkins, corn stalks, and really make a statement. Will show this to you if I ever get it accomplished.  For now:
I hope that you have fun decorating for the new season.  Remember where there is fear there is no creativity.  Fall into some great decorating projects! Create and be happy!
