This is a photo of our wonderful granddaughter, Tabitha Rose.  If you are a grandmother then you understand just how special a little granddaughter can be.   The reason I have published this picture is not so that you can see how precious she is, but so that I can talk about the dress she is wearing!  You see, it belonged to my Aunt Mary who wore it when she was around two years old in maybe 1912.  Tabitha wore it for Easter Sunday in 2012.  We figured that the dress gets worn by someone in our family every 100 years!  Notice the beautiful and delicate cut work on the bodice.

Here you see the embroidery that goes down the front of the bodice and onto the skirt below the dropped waist.  I am not sure that Tabitha thought that it was a wonderful thing to be wearing this dress…she usually has a big smile on her face.  Maybe it was the tights that she did not love!

Here is an old photo of the first little girl who wore the dress, Maryetta Wood.  She is pictured with her mother, my grandmother in the upper left.  Her name was “Ruby” and she is holding my father, Dan Wood.  In the front is Aunt Mary and she is wearing a white cotton dress very similar to the one worn by Tabitha. I will try to find the exact dress one of these rainy days when going through old family photos is the thing to do.

I enjoyed this sepia toned photo of the family at the beginning of the last century so much, that I manipulated my Windows Live Photo Gallery to make Tabitha’s picture black and white.  When I tried to make it sepia, it was just too yellow.  I probably need more practice. I just learned about the wonderful things I can do with the Windows Live Photo Gallery.  If you haven’t investigated it on your computer, I enourage you to do that right away.

When Tabitha was much smaller, we had a christening gown made for her.  The fabric is from her mother’s wedding dress and my wedding dress.  Here is the gown and the bonnet.

This was her mother, Beth, on her wedding day.

Beth’s dress had no lace, but mine did.  We used fabric from my gown for the bodice of the christening dress and for the lace.  My dress is pictured here:

There was not much left of my wedding dress when our youngest daughter, Kathleen, was married.  But she asked the seamstress to take a small piece of lace in the shape of a heart and sew it into her dress.

If you would like to read more about the trauma associated with getting the christening gown made and see Tabitha wearing it, go to: www.deborahwoodmurphy.wordpress.com  and click on “Heritage Christening Gown” on the left side of the page.

Family traditions are always so important.  I encourage you to think what you might do with a baby dress or any garment that you might have that has survived gererations.  In my mind, there is no better way to create and be happy!

