Tags

, ,

Try to stay with me here for there is a point to this story. My grandmother was one of two girls. She had one girl and that daughter had two girls.  They were my sister and me.  Then, my sister had one girl and I had two girls. Her one daughter had two girls and those daughters had three girls.  My oldest daughter had one girl and we waited expectantly to learn if there would be another girl or just maybe a boy when we learned that she was pregnant.   After twelve girls (well there was one boy because my nephew came along over 40 years ago), we thought that for sure we would welcome another granddaughter. We have become very good at all things pink!

On November 27, very early in the morning, our daughter and her husband welcomed their son.  His name is, “Simon,” and he is beautiful.  Those of you who are grandparents know how truly special it is to be a grandparent.  I remember the old quote, “If I had known how much fun it is to have grandchildren, I would have had them first.”

When his sister, Tabitha, first said, “Nana, I love you,”  I thought they were the sweetest words I had ever heard. I sort of melted inside and I heard sweet music that no one else could hear. You grandmothers out there know exactly what I mean.

One of the taglines on this blog is to be happy.  I just must show you the most special little boy in our lives.  He is four days old here and he has made us very happy

Simon4 days 1

When his sister, Tabitha, first saw him she was interested at first, but then she liked playing with the vertical blinds in the hospital room more.  Soon, I imagine that she will delight in teaching him things she has learned like how to wrap Nana (me) and Gramps around his little finger. That will not take much effort.

As we join the whole world in celebrating the birth of the Christ child we wish for you peace and joy and childlike wonder.  Remember that there are still miracles in the world and that you should watch for one in your life. Gaze upon the face of a newborn baby and know that there is hope and joy in the world.

The miracle in our lives is that now Gramps can trade in his yellow sand pail in the picture below for the tiny hand of his first grandson.

Taba and Gramps at Beach

Merry Christmas! Happy Hannukkah!  Make time to let joy into your life.

