Tags

, , ,

Once upon a time I made angel pins from the handles of forks and spoons.  I bought silverplate flatware at garage sales and antique stores and severed the handles about three inches up from the tip with a red bolt cutter.  Then, I polished the silver and used E6000 glue to add what were supposed to be wings, a head, a halo, a bow at the neck and some other embellishments.  Here is a photo of some the finished angel pins.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I  came across a box of them in my attic the other day after not seeing them for a few years.  I think that the patina on the silver is really beautiful and I love the look and thought of angels.  I took some out and put a ribbon through each halo and hung them on my Christmas tree.

The night before, I had gone to a jewelry trunk show party at the home of my daughter.  When she was a girl I had so many orders for these angel pins that I simply could not keep up with them.  So, I offered to show Kathleen how to make them and told her that she could help me and I would pay her.  The order was for 150 pins and she said, “Yes.”  She worked hard and I was surprised at how precise she was at the task.  You could not tell which ones she made and which ones were mine.

When she was older Kathleen decided to supplement her income by making jewelry. First, her jewelry went to friends, then to boutiques, then onto a web site www.murphyjewelry.com .  Finally, a few months ago after years of working on jewelry at her kitchen counter she entered a contest sponsored by the BELK department store chain and was one of the winners.  Some of her designs will be sold in BELK stores in March and one necklace and a pair of earrings will be featured in Vogue, InStyle, and Lucky magazines in March.

I want you to visit her most recent trunk show with me. She opened her home over the space of two days.  I did the same thing once and I know that it is a massive amount of work. Although it was maybe six years ago I am still tired!  Here is Kathleen helping a happy shopper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She made her dining room and family room into a boutique.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So if you are passionate about making jewelry, writing stories, drawing or painting, gardening, knitting, crafting, taking photos or any one of thousands of other pursuits I tell you to create with enthusiasm and share your talents with others.  Most of the fun is in the process and the rest is in seeing the smiles on the faces of people who admire your work. If you decide to offer your creations for sale you give people the chance to have something that is made in America by a person who just loves what he or she is doing. Create and be happy!

