Tags

, , ,

Every year, after the holiday decorations are put away, I yearn for a cleaner pallette.  I envision white slip covers with blue and white accents. I have used the same willow ware dishes for forty years and I never get tired of them.  I dream of a home that will be ever so white with blue accents…and the way that I will get it is to have slipcovers made for my sofas and to have all of the walls painted.  Right now, just thinking about all of that makes me want to sit down.  So, here are some photos of what I mean.

Jamestown Residence: Living Area traditional living roomvia Union Studio

The lighter pallette just speaks to me.  Maybe I am ready for winter to end.

Living Room traditional living room

Here they have added a table and opened the shot to show the upright piano.

2012 Home Tour eclectic via Mustard Seed Interiors

Evanston Project traditional living roomvia Jane Kelly

Just the one blue pillow above adds a spot of color…think I would add more blue, like this:

Sarah Richardson Design

This bedroom made the cover of Southern Accents several years ago.  Sometimes we do not think of the lampshade as a way of adding color to a room.

from ucrit.net

Pastel blue is so nice with the molding.  Love the botanical print on the chair.  Find a thrift store table and paint it blue like the table below.

www.zunetop.com

In this sunroom you could change the look by changing the pillows.  Add brown and rust in the winter and put out the blue for spring and summer. While this room is certainly blue and white it may be too white for me.  However, I think that it is beautiful.

John Mcdonald Co tropical living roomvia John McDonald Company

This room has the pale blue walls, royal blue upholstery, and blue and white china. I love that the blue is used high on the walls, like the blue of the sky.

Bountiful traditional living roomby Bountiful

I love the striped rug in the photo below..  It makes me think of the living room on the “Something’s Gotta Give” movie set.

Camelia Court traditional living roomby Garrison Hullinger Interior Design

Here is the movie set.  As a matter of fact, they have used the same furniture arrangement.   This makes me think that the one design is based on the other. They both have a sofa and love seat at right angles to each other and two single chairs opposite.  I think that I light the light blue walls above the best.

Maybe I should try adding blue accessories like books and a vase.

Greenwich Penthouse traditional living roomby Tiffany Eastman Interiors

You don’t have to worry about mixing blue and white patterns.  They all go together set against this neutral background.

via House and Home

via House Beautiful

Here, the walls are white but the fabric on the chair seats and curtains plus urns in the niche are all blue and white. Have you noticed that lately patterned drapes/curtains are making a come back?

via 3.bp.blogspot.com

I hope you have enjoyed this “breath of fresh blue and white air.”  If you are in the process of planning a room, try to choose neutral upholstered furniture and then you can add accessories according to the season or your taste.  Create and be happy!

