Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In my last blog I told you about the television show
Downton Abbey
which airs on PBS on Sunday evenings.  I mentioned that the real “star” of the show is Highclere Castle which is over four hundred years old and sits seventy miles west of London.  Then, I found an ariticle in an old Traditional Home magazine that described readers’ favorite homes from movies.  Here are the homes that made the readers’ cut in 2009:

1.  Architectural moldings and wood flooring made Meg Ryan’s Manhattan apartment in You’ve Got Mail popular. These images are from Hookedonhouses.net.

via Hooked on Houses.net

#2.  Harrison Ford and Michelle Pfeiffer’s Vermont home in What Lies Beneath was liked for romantic touches and the vintage bathroom and gardens. I did not see this movie and I had a difficult time finding images.  I believe that it must have been a very “dark” movie.  But, the house was terrific.

What Lies Beneath House

garden-1

hookedonhouses.net

www.virtual-history.com

#3.  Many readers of Traditional Home were fond of the Connecticut house that Susan Sarandon occupied in Stepom. 

via Hookedonhouses.net

Hookedonhouses.net

#4.  The Long Island Colonial of Blythe Danner and Robert De Niro in Meet the Parents appealed to many people.  While I could not find any photos that were actually from the movie, I did learn that the actual house was for sale.  Here are photos from the real estate listing.  The house is in Old Brookville, New York and had been redecorated.

  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545
  • 93 Pound Hollow Rd Old Brookville, NY 11545

#5.  The Big Chill house

The actual house stood in Beaufort, South Carolina.  The sound track from that movie was really great!

#6.  The 1991 remake of Father of the Bride was still in the minds of readers when they responded to the Traditional Home survey.
Photos courtesy of: betweennapsonthe porch.net
Father of the Bride Movie House
#7.  The movie house with the majority of the votes was the home where Macaulay Culkin lived in the Christmas comedy Home Alone. It stands in Winnetka, Illinois and was recently on the market for $2,400,000.00.
via:  activerian.com
Here it is after the wallpaper that was there during the movie was removed and the walls were painted.
acolourfullife-meg.blogspot.com
The kitchen must have been redecorated before the house went on the market.
What is your favorite move house?  Mine just might be from the movie Somethings Gotta Give. The house sits on Long Island but the interiors were filmed on a sound stage.  The following images are from hookedonhouses.net:
Here is what I love to call, “The Great Wall of China.”
I would like to say that the next photo is of me working on my blog, but alas, it is Diane Keaton in the bedroom set from the movie.
I must love the beach cottages because another of my all time favorites is the cottage where Kevin Costner lived in Message in a Bottle.
from hookedonhouses.net
from Coastal Living
from Coastal Living
from Coastal Living
from Coastal Living
from Coastal Living
What is your favorite movie house?  You can borrow an idea from the set decorator and put it in your own home.   I wonder if the reason I chose the brown leather sofa for my family room and the color scheme plus the sailing ship is because I loved the cottage in Message in a Bottle?  I know that I kept that issue of Coastal Living for years and looked at the cottage over and over.   This is a photo of my current family room.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I would say that the homes chosen in Traditional Home magazine are mostly “traditional” and that is probably because the readers to a traditional magazine like traditional design.  I am not a statistician, but that makes sense  to me.
See you at the movies!  Create and be happy!
