Decorating the table for my book club meeting yesterday was fun.  I remembered a picture that I had saved on Pinterest.

Pinned Image

via Stylemepretty.com

How perfect would it be to make a table runner from the pages of an old book….I had just the book.  It was one that I was going to donate or throw away.  In a few minutes, I had taken out enough pages and taped them together so that they formed a table runner.  I placed them irregularly and let some black and white pictures show just for variety.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The napkins that I found were perfect companions for the book club table runner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My friends were happy to pose for a “before discussion,” photo.  Sue, Marcia, Harriette (trying to hide) Karen, and Pinkie are all avid readers who enjoy reviewing a good book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The discarded book was good for two more projects.  The first one was patterned after the book pages that are rolled and secured with twine at Restoration Hardware.  I tore out some pages and tied them with string and then placed them under a glass dome.  Most anything looks fancy under glass!  Are they important declarations?  No!  They are nondescript pages from an old book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second project was to make a wreath from the pages.  I first told you about it in an early posting of mine which I called,  “Use an Old Book to Create Art,” last September.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are lots more projects that you can do with the printed page.  Just do a little research on Pinterest and you can create and be happy!

