Tags

, , , ,

For the longest time I have been looking for candle sconces to go on both sides of the family picture in the dining room.   When I could find a matching pair they were too expensive, too small, too large, had too much brass, etc.  I had begun to think that I would never find a pair that I liked.  Here is a photo of the wall where I wanted to hang them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The portrait with the gold frame was taken before either of our daughters was married and so the sons-in-law and grand children are missing.  I will have another portrait made one day and we can all be together on the dining room wall!  But, I thought that for the time being, the portrait was too small for the wall or maybe the wall was too large for the portrait?  Hence, the desire for sconces.

Then, it hit me.  Why not “marry” the crystal sconces that I had in another room of the house with two barn wood porch slats that I bought in Mississippi?  I love the French look that is so popular right now….rustic wood and crystal, mercury glass, burlap…it is almost summer and time for a change. The look of barn wood and crystal might not be good for everyone.  For me, I like mixing “comfortable” and “fancy.”  For example, my idea of perfect would be blue jeans and a beautiful cashmere sweater.

Here is what happened with just two four nails.  Two were used to hang the barn wood slats on the wall and two nails were used to hang the candle sconces that I already owned on the slats.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That went so well that I decided to add burlap table runners and mercury glass to the top of the table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you have anything around the house that you can “marry?”  Create and be happy!

