Tags

, ,

Celebrated designer Dan Carithers retired last year but not before he created a body of work that will stand the test of time.  I first noticed his work on the pages of Traditional Home and Southern Accents magazines.  Once I was familiar with him I looked for more of his beautiful rooms whenever a home shelter magazine would appear.  While I don’t know Mr. Carithers I would have to say that he certainly looks “dapper!”

The Southern Accents Showhouse at Regents Park celebrated in-town living with a traditional approach to the architecture.  Dan Carithers and his design team did the interiors with a palette of Ralph Lauren paint named “golden yellow, oatmeal, golf tee white,” and a chocolate brown called, “traditional.”  The showhouse was done in 2008 but it is so timeless that it still looks wonderful today.  Let me take you on a tour.

According to Southern Accents, May/June 2008, “The combination library, living room, and dining room proves that even the most gracious space can be well-suited to a more laidback lifestyle.  The fireplace gives guests a grand view from the foyer as they enter the house; yet its position at one end of the long interior wall, rather than centered in the room, offsets the formality.”

In the family room, dark brown walls combine with wood flooring and rustic beams.

The master sitting room is located at the opposite end of the hall from the master bedroom.  It features neutral hues and a fretwork patterned fabric.

The master bedroom is very traditional and so beautiful.

…and a guest room is just as restful.

Have you ever seen his-and-hers closets like these? They feature a floor to ceiling mirror which bridge the space between his bath and hers.

After I had admired the Regent’s Showhouse in Atlanta in Southern Accents, I fell in love with Dan Carither’s own home.  He did it in blue and white!  Here is his own home in Buckhead in Atlanta, a home which he and his wife have shared for many years.

He has a fabulous cremeware collection.  Part of it is displayed on this table.

 

Let me finish by showing you some of my favorite Dan Carithers rooms. While I am not sure where they are, I am sure that I like them and I hope that you do, too!

For those of us who love traditional design, these Dan Carithers rooms are timeless and so beautiful.  Do you like traditional design?   Create and be happy!

