Tags

, , ,

I am back from Iowa and the cowboy wedding that I told you about.  It was 97 degrees in the middle of a cornfield, but we really did not notice the heat.  There’s something about a wedding and when you have known the bride since she was born, it is even more special.  My niece’s daughter, Megan, married cowboy Dillon last weekend at the round barn in Allerton, Iowa.   I had never been to a cowboy wedding… I think that you will enjoy seeing photos of this one.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here it is before it was “dressed up” for the wed’n.

Just a short walk from the round barn is a house where the bride and her attendants prepared for the ceremony.  The secret was that there was air conditioning in the basement.  My sister and I knew the secret and we hung out there til just before the ceremony!

The barn has been there since 1912.  The house was moved more recently and so was a small white clapboard church.

Here cum the flower girl and the ring bearer.  The flower girl is Kennedy, daughter of the bride.  Sorry, but I do not know the darling young man’s name.  That is me over on the right side in an orange t-shirt.

Photo

Here is the bride with her attendants.  My great nieces are second and third from the left.  It was wonderful to see Rachel, her sister Megan the bride, and to meet Kennedy and Jordyn who is Rachel’s daughter and who is on the far right. When last I saw Jordyn, she was in diapers.  Now she is a self confident, talented, and beautiful young lady.  I regret that I do not have a good photo of her sister Charley in her fine wedding attire.  I will show you a “before” picture later.

Photo

The whole bridal party was outfitted in boots….the men are rugged cowboys who cleaned up right well for the big day.

Photo

Never let it be said that our family doesn’t have a sense of humor.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Besides seeing the ceremony, one of the highlights of the weekend was seeing Rachel and Jordyn after so many years and meeting Rachel’s youngest, Charley.  Here they all are with grandmother Jackie, my sister.  I just had to add this picture because Rachel, Jordyn and Charley are faithful readers of this blog.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here is Charley on the far right in her ecru lace dress.  The boots she wore were cute, too.

I hope that you are able to reconnect with family soon.  We are all busy. Make the time and go to see your family just as soon as you can.

