Tags

, ,

On June 9, 2013, I posted a blog about a fascinating and beautiful English manor house.  Part of the fun of doing this blog is that sometimes I get a response from or about a person who is mentioned on the post.   So it was that recently I received a kind comment from a gentleman who is a realtor representing the family mentioned in the June blog.  First, I am going to show you the message that I received from realtor Cesar Herrera:

Cesar Herrera commented on English Manor House

I was cleaning out my decorating magazines last week when I chanced to uncover one of my favorite issues of all time.  It is …

HI Deborah,

I love this article on your blog. It happens that we have Minnie and Dru Montagu (the Montagu family owns the English manor house I featured) spectacular home for sale too in the Caribbean. In the Dominican Republic located in one of the most prestigious resort in the island named Casa de Campo. Casa Palapa was designed by Marco Aldaco, an architect considered one of the top 100 by Architectural Digest. If you want to know more about Dru Montagu homes in the Caribbean check this link with more details, photos and video. I hope you find it as unique as this manor homes in UK: www.provaltur.com/punta-minitas-11

Regards

Cesar Herrera

So, first I will refresh your memory about the manor house which we toured on my blog post in 2013.  You might want to get a cup of tea.  This will be a long one!

ENGLISH MANOR HOUSE      June 9, 2013

I was cleaning out my decorating magazines last week when I chanced to uncover one of my favorite issues of all time.  It is the Traditional Home issue from April 2005.  I know that I kept it because I loved looking at the manor house southwest of London and owned by Minnie and Dru Montagu.

The cover from the issue is below.  Look at the darling dogs, the topiaries, antique oil painting, porcelain dogs on the hall table.  It just screams, “anglophile!”

The information that I want to give you is from Traditional Home and the photos from Hall Place are courtesy of Kay from www.hydrangeahillcottage.blogspot.com.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Queen Anne structure was built in 1680 by Isaac Foxcroft and, with the exception of two wings added in 1720 and the addition of new bathrooms and updates to the kitchen, the original structure remains intact.

The house sits on 400 acres which include forests, fields, hills, sparkling brooks and streams.  There are several ponds where you can fish or row a boat.

Minnie did all of her own decorating in some 20 rooms. She is very fond of chickens and dogs at Hall Place.  At the time or the article she had six dogs, and each one enjoyed a basket with comfy cushions.  There are countless other dogs seen in oil paintings, drawings, photographs, and needlepoint creations.

Minnie raised exotic breeds of chickens.  Like the dogs they are pampered with their own miniature village of henhouses designed to resemble the manor house.  Two of her favorite chickens at the time of the article, Walter and Florinda, accompanied her in the kitchen.  “I put them in baskets on top of a table so the dogs can’t get at them,” she said.  “They sit there politely and watch me cook.”

It must have been collected over generations.  The family had lived there for 20 years in 2005.  Many of the furnishings came with them from their former home in London.

The English way of decorating is so warm and inviting…a minimalist would never like this controlled clutter that has been collected over time.

This must be the kitchen where the two chickens sit to watch Minnie Montagu cook.

In this attic guest room the beams are more than three centuries old.

I wish that I had more photos of Hall Place and Minnie Montagu’s decorating. Since I do not, here are some charming photos from other historic homes in England.

 

Now, lLet me now show you the home about which Mr. Herrera spoke:

About the property

While located at the heart of the Casa de Campo resort, the sense of ease and seclusion at Casa Palapa is palpable; the 3 acre peninsular, stretching out into the Caribbean Sea, offers wonderful vistas that compound the magic of this property. Designed by the Yacqui Mexican Indian architect, Marco Aldaco, named among the 100 best architects in the world by Architectural Digest, the hand of a master is to be found everywhere. Casa Palapa provides a blissful escape in a perfect tropical setting.

Exotic outdoors “Palapa”, the Mexican term for a circular, palm thatched building supported by pillars, is central to the property. Whilst the rear pillars are encased by a single wall, the remaining structure is left open to the breeze, creating panoramic views; combine this with mesmerizing 30 foot tall ceilings and the Palapa makes a stunning tropical sitting room. Surrounded by the sea, set among beautifully maintained gardens with immense trees and orchards, Casa Palapa is an enchanting fusion of indoor-outdoor living.

Impeccable design The main family house crowns the property and is loosely connected by shady terraces and palm-vaulted walkways to the Grand Palapa, an unforgettable space for welcoming guests. Winding walkways from these main buildings lead to the ocean-side pool surrounded by verdant bushes, splashed with color. Beyond the pool, a terrace shaded by a pergola covered in white-flowering vines is made for entertaining guests and relaxing over lunch and behind an ornamental garden is used for alfresco, candle-lite dinning. Further walkways meander through exotic flowerbeds to the guesthouse, with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, own Palapa and beach, providing independence and privacy to the main house.

If you have an interest in this unique and stunning property, you can contact Cesar Herrera at www.provattur.com/punta-minitas-11

I hope that you enjoyed revisiting one of my favorite homes and seeing something new in the Caribbean.  Create and be happy!