Tags

, , ,

I was enjoying the latest post from the wonderful blog Cote de Texas here when I saw a picture of a beautiful table with a map of the plan of Paris from the 1700’s featured on the table top.

image

The table is from Councill Furniture.  I had only to look above the computer screen to see my own map of Paris hanging on the wall.  H-m-m-m-!  What if…?

map of paris on wall

map of paris on footstool#1

I put it on top of a slip covered hassock.  Instant table!  Then, I found a blue glass bowl and some white flowers similar to the original photo.

map of paris on footstool#2

 

map of paris #5

I could put it on the metal base that is usually in front of this sofa and if I were to paint the base black, it would look even more like the original photograph.

image

map of paris #4

Here is the way this base usually looks:

DSC_1110

You can find beautiful wrapping paper at gift stores and if they were put into a frame, they would make a stunning table.  You can buy frames very inexpensively at local thrift stores.  If the paper does not fit exactly, just trim it or add other related pictures around the edge.  I purchased these papers for another project which I told about here.  The first is another map of Paris.

botanical 10

botanical 8

botanical 4

Here is the same idea using three garden stools and a round glass top.

Leslie Hayes Interiors contemporary-patio
Leslie Hayes Interiors
Duffy Design Group
This long narrow table was made from putting reclaimed wood on top of an old iron piece.
Hollywood Hills Home transitional-hall
LauraU.Inc
I did this once and then put a black director’s chair on each side of the treadle base table.  It looked very good for almost no money.
itsy-bits-and-pieces.blogspot.com
When you take a top that did not start life with the base and put it on top of the base, it is said that you, “marry” the pieces.
Look around your home.  Check out the large pictures at your local thrift store.  Maybe it is time for another “marriage” at you house!
Create and be happy!