Tags

, ,

One of the great things about living in North Carolina is that you are within easy driving distance from the beach.  There are hundreds of miles of beautiful coastline to visit.  Last weekend friends invited us to come for a beach party and there was the promise of some special cookies.

Since I am a cookie monster at heart, that sounded like the perfect plan.  I was thinking about peanut butter, chocolate chip, maybe oatmeal raisin cookies.  What I found was so charming and so delicious that I need to share them with you.

cookiesThe gingerbread sandal foot cookies were as tasty as they were cute.  I should have turned one over because on the bottom was granulated natural sugar because, “…it looks like sand.”

There was another platter of sandal foot cookies.  These were not as “tan.”

cookies #2

My friend told me that she bought the heart shapes that are used for the toe nails.  They are mostly available around Valentine’s Day.

Then, there are these darling bikini clad gingerbread girls:

cookies #3 (2)

I did not ask how long it took to make the cookies, but I suspicion that it is a labor of love that takes a very long time!  Let me say again how delicious they were.  Of course I had to sample one of each.

How great it would be to be known for your special culinary creation.  Maybe I should make it a point to be known for my special cake!  So, I am going to leave you with the recipe for North Pole Toffee Cake.  It is possibly the easiest and most delicious summer cake that you can imagine.

North Pole Toffee Cake

1 (20 oz.) pkg. chocolate cake mix

1 (12 oz) ctn. frozen whipped topping

1/3 c. chocolate syrup

7 toffee bars (Heath or Skor), crushed

Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans. Prepare and bake cake according to package directions.  Cool on a wire rack.  Carefully cut each layer horizontally to make 2 layers.  They will be thin.  In a bowl, mix whipped topping with chocolate syrup and 6 crushed toffee bars.  Place 1 layer of cake on a serving plate and spread with chocolate mixture.  Repeat with remaining 3 layers.  Frost side and top of cake.  Sprinkle with remaining crushed bar on top of cake.

Create and be happy!