Tags

, , , ,

I noticed a re-emergence of the color pink in shelter magazines.  There have been pink pillows added to sofas along with more pink accents.  This is a lovely photo from Milleu magazine:

For those of us who love pink, this is welcome news.  Too bad that I got rid of most all of my pink accent pieces years ago.  “Think pink,” has been a long time coming back.

Here are more pink inspired rooms:

Lavender and pink combine to make this a restful and sophisticated room.  Looks so much like spring!

Once upon a time I had a chintz sofa that had fabric very much like the chair in this room designed by Mario Buatta, aka “The Prince of Chintz.”

Pam Pierce, Houston designer, used a Saarinen table and pink fabric on the banquette.  Pam is the editor of Milieu magazine.  This wonderful design was featured in the magazine:

Choosing the right color of pink can be a little tricky.  This room manages to be pink but it is not painted a pink that is too “sweet.”

showhouse eclectic-living-room

 Every since my aunt once wallpapered her powder room in a pink and black wallpaper, I have loved the combination.
Pink and aqua are always dynamite together.
|| C O B U R N - A R C H I T E C T U R E || traditional-bedroom

 Without knowing the name of the paint in the next photo, I would say that it reminds me of the pink in a sea shell.  See the shells on the wall?
1

 I am not sure that my husband would be fond of having a pink living room. Do you like this?  The fuschia and green offer bright punches of color.
Madison shabby-chic-living-room

 Here is a room designed for a toddler who is moving to a big girl bed.
pink girls room traditional-kids

A pink nursery would be wonderful, too.
PINK BABY ROOM traditional-kids

Homeowners here painted their dining room pink because the room did not get much natural light and they wanted it to glow.
Family Fun for Everyone transitional-dining-room

 I have this wonderful vase that belonged to my mother.  She bought it at the dime store in the 40’s.  Originally, she pain about .49 for it.   I saw it in an antique store for $125 a few years ago.  I love the tulips.
vase
The only pink that I have in my home currently is the soft shell pink found naturally in these shells:
reused glass 4 blog

…and the hot pink in this photo of our granddaughter.  She performed in her first ballet recital and her tutu had a bright pink trim.

tabitha recital #4

tabitha recital #5

I think that the trim looks more red in these photos, but I remember it as a fuschia.  Perhaps this was a shameless attempt to publish a photo of this little girl who just steals my heart.

If the tutu became a room, perhaps it would look like this:

\

KTH Interior Design Work contemporary-bedroom

 If a Lili Pulitzer fabric was turned into a room, maybe it would look like this:
HGTV Showhouse contemporary-living-room

Nothing prettier than cherry blossoms or baby pink roses!
Don’t be afraid to add the color pink to your home design.  Create and be happy!