Tags

, , , , , , ,

Once upon a time, I had a BIG birthday and my family joined me at a home in Seaside to celebrate.  I thought that the house was off of the rental market, but I found it while doing research for the last blog entry.  It was so nice then and it still looks beautiful.  I think that you might like to see it.  Just in case you are interested, it is #356710 on the VRBO site.  Here is a peek at Maison D’ Ya Ya.

The house sits well back in Seaside, but it seems like only a short walk to the beach, entering through the Tupelo Pavillion.  This pavilion was at the end of the street and such a lovely entry to the beach.

seaside photo with chairs

The first floor featured an open living room, dining room, kitchen area.

I remember some fun family meals at this table.  We even had Family Fun Night in this area.  I wrote a poem to commemorate the event!

The kitchen was not huge, but it was laid out well and the appliances were top of the line.

Behind the stairs on the first floor was this small powder room.

These Adirondack chairs are a new addition.

We affectionately called the house, “The Stair Master.” This is why.

This master bed room was at the top of the first flight of steps.  My husband and I stayed here and we left the higher bedrooms for younger legs.

I don’t remember spending any time on our balcony and now I wonder why!

Our master bath had a great claw foot tub.  It was a real treat.

This bedroom was across the hall from our room.  Our youngest daughter stayed here.

 

One floor up was the bunk room.  We did not have any grandchildren to stay here at the time.  Now we have three!

This fun little room adjoins the bunk room.  As I remember, a boyfriend stayed on this sleeper sofa.  Poor Patrick.  He was too tall for the bunk room. Today, he and our daughter celebrate their third wedding anniversary!

This is the bath that went with the bunk room and yellow sofa hang out room.

Our oldest daughter and her husband shared this third floor bedroom and bath.

 

If you climb all the way to the top, you are rewarded by this view from the fourth floor.

The house sits near the family pool and the croquet lawn.  I remember taking a major whooping at croquet from my daughter.  How did that happen?  I taught her to play!  When we played we did not look as elegant as this group.  But, my husband does have a pair of Madras shorts!

I found one more beach house at Seaside to show you.  I haven’t stayed here, but I remember walking past.  It is called, “Key Lime Cottage.”

Above is the Odessa Pavilion.  You enter the beach by walking through this lovely place.

This year we are planning to go to the mountains.  The house there is called, “Duffer’s Delight,” and it has a miniature golf course in the basement.  Huh?  That is what they say!  Tune in for details in the Fall.

Of course it is wonderful to have a get-a-way with your family.  But, the most important thing is to make time to be together.  You can do that at a local park or in the back yard or the front porch.

Create and be happy!