Tags

, ,

When we were in grade school we had to learn about ionic, doric, and Corinthian columns.  We also had to learn what convex and concave mean.  Do you remember? I will save a lesson on Greek columns for another day.  Today, let’s turn our attention to “convex” and “concave.”

Concave—having an outline or surface that curves inward. I tried to remember it this way: I think of a collapse or a “cave in.”  That brings to mind “concave” or curving inward.

Convex—having an outline or surface that curves outward.

The style of the day when American colonists were decorating their homes was to hang a Federal convex mirror with a frame made from wood.  An American eagle often was on the top.

Maybe you have seen a convex mirror in an alley way or some other “tight” space.

I bought one at a garage sale last summer for $1.00.  The frame is made from wood and another compound, possibly gesso.  I used it on the back wall of a cabinet.  It brings more light onto the shelf.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Some people like the look of the mirror, but not the eagle on the top.  The form can be reduced down to just a round frame and it may be painted most any color.  The beauty of the mirror is that it reflects items in almost the whole room, not just what is in front of it.  It bounces light back into a room and really adds sparkle.  Here are some beautiful ones.  Some frames are more ornate than others.

 

 
I was in Bed Bath and Beyond the other day looking for some towels and on the floor of the mirror section I spied two convex mirrors.  One was out of the box just leaning against the wall and another was still in the box.  They were on sale for half price and I had a 20% off coupon in my hand.  I just couldn’t resist buying one.   Now, it is hanging over an oil painting in the family room.  I like how it brings light into a dark room and how it draws the eye up toward the tall ceiling.  The room does not seem so horizontal now that the mirror is there.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Actually, I can think of five places where it would look nice.  You probably have a place in your home where a convex mirror would be a welcome addition.
The next photos are from Joni Webb and her site, Cote de Texas.  Notice the convex mirror in each beautiful room.
image
image
image
imageimage
image
I have been accused of having too many plates on my wall.  I laughingly refer to it as, “The Great Wall of China.”  Perhaps I should be careful or I might enter into what we could call, “The Great Hall of Mirrors.”
Create and be happy!