Tags

This isn’t a blog about decorating, nor does it have pictures of beautiful scenery or tips to do wonderful crafts.  I want to tell you a story, but a story with a point.

Yesterday was the dreaded day to get the oil changed in my car.  It is just one of those jobs you must do even if it means sitting in an automotive waiting room for who knows how long while a mechanic drains the oil from your car and checks it for any needed repair.  I expected to be there for about an hour and a half so I took along the book I am reading about Jane Goodall and settled in on the brown leather sofa in the waiting room.

I was awakened by the service coordinator who wanted to tell me that the engine mounts had to be replaced because one was loose and the other was on its way to being gone.  Naturally, they could not do the work that afternoon and so I was given a loaner car.  Now, this was not just any old loaner, but a 2014 Cadillac SRX with only 3800 miles.  The man who took me to the car said that it is like driving a computer.  Indeed!  He was correct!

I stopped on the way home to do an errand at a store.  I parked the car as far from the front door as possible.  There was a green median strip on the right and no cars parked on the left.  It was as safe as I could keep it at that point.  After 10-15 minutes in the store, I went back to the vehicle.  I noticed a young girl talking on her cell phone just beside the Cadillac.  She looked like she was having car trouble and was calling for help.  You know that look….panic mixed with concern.  The fact that it was in the 90’s probably did not help.  I thought about asking her if I might be of any help but then decided that she was talking to help and asked myself, “What would I do anyway?”

Off I went to the grocery store to buy dinner for my sweet husband.  I noticed a black Cadillac Escalade in the parking lot of the first store and then saw it pull into a parking space at the grocery store.  “What a coincidence!” I thought.  Well, it was no coincidence.  As I exited the loaner car she came up to me and told me that my courtesy vehicle had been hit be that girl on the cell phone.  Sure enough!  I had black paint and deep scratches on the rear bumper.  Does anyone remember when a bumper was made of steel and nothing could hurt it?  Today they seem to be made of plastic and cost a fortune to replace.

Not only had she followed me, but she handed me the license plate number of the black car and gave me her phone number so that she could be called by the police. “I thought that God would want me to help you.  It is what I would want someone to do for me.”  I am so thankful for that sweet lady.  She did the right thing.  Not only did she have the presence of mind to copy the license number, but she took time out of her busy afternoon to follow me.  If I had been more like her and had offered to help the girl, maybe she would have confessed what she did to my car!

Let this be a message to everyone who has thought about helping someone, but decides at the last minute not to.  Do the right thing!  Teach your children to do the right thing!  This is my feeble attempt to pass on the message in the hope that someone will take it to heart.  Help a neighbor who needs to shovel their walk.  Take a meal to a family in need.  Visit a nursing home and take some sunshine to the people who are shut in. Volunteer to help with Habitat for Humanity or donate items to a Food Pantry.  We are all on this planet together and we need to show more love and concern for one another.  Remember the golden rule:

Matthew 7:12

English Standard Version (ESV)

The Golden Rule

12 “So whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.

Years ago I attended a church in Pensacola, Florida.  There was a family there who did the right thing every December.  All year long they collected warm up suits.  Then, at Christmas time they drove through the poorest part of town and left bundles of warm clothes for the homeless. The children in that family learned a very important lesson early in life.  Their parents are to be commended for what they did.

I cannot figure a way to add a pretty picture of a house to this post.  Helping others and doing the right thing seldom has any tie to a well designed house.  What it does is enhance a well designed life.  So, when you see an opportunity to help someone else, do the right thing!

Do the right thing and be happy!