Tags

, ,

I grew up in a home where every room but the kitchen and bath had wallpaper.  The walls were plaster, but I never saw them.  My mother had very good design sense and it was the choice of the time to have wallpaper.  My bedroom was once pink and then when I had the opportunity to choose the paper, I chose blue.

So, when I married and had my own home, I decided to teach myself to wallpaper so I could have the same look.  It wasn’t easy and it wasn’t inexpensive, but it was fashionable.  Then, came move after move with the U.S. Navy and whenever we would buy a house that had a previous owner, I never liked their choice of paper!  One had big red roses in the dining room and another had a silver foil with huge blue flowers in the bath.  Of course, the person who inherited my wallpaper choices was probably not too happy either.

I became an expert in removing paper.  I scraped and peeled and soaked.  I used the famous “Paper Tiger” tool and even sprayed with fabric softener.  After the last bout of paper removal about fifteen years ago I declared that I would never, as long as I lived, have wallpaper in my house again.  While I haven’t gone back on that declaration, I have been charmed by some photos of wallpaper in homes.  Is it back?  Did it ever leave? Should I try it again?  Let’s take a look at what I think are some lovely rooms, all with wallpaper.

This first one is from an historic home that is for sale in Savannah, Georgia.  The pineapple paper seems to compliment the home that was built in 1905.  The paper is soft and reminiscent of a gentler time.

52 Grimball Point Savannah GA For Sale (9)

52 Grimball Point Savannah GA For Sale (18)I think that this powder room is such a small space that the paper gives it interest.

Powder Room traditional powder room

Here is another powder room but much more dramatic:

Powder Bathroom traditional powder room

designed by RLH Studio

The sunroom below belongs to designer Tory Burch.  The trellis pattern adds to the character of this garden room without being too imposing.

This book wallpaper is neutral and relaxing.  Would I get tired of it?

My Houzz: Cody contemporary living room

photo by Lucy Call

Remember the accent wall design idea? I tried this several times because it was easy and quick to install.

Baby Room contemporary nursery

Dvira Interior Design Toronto

Damask wallpaper on one half of the wall in this dining room is nice.

Traditional Dining Room Interior Design traditional dining room

Lauren Nicole Designs

Maybe just the back of book cases…

Icehouse Loft contemporary living room

wUNDERground architects and designers

I’m not sure about zebras fleeing from arrows:

Balnarring Beach House contemporary bathroom

Diane Bergeron Interiors

…and I think that this is entirely too busy:

Bohemian Apartment Study eclectic family room

Incorporated Architects and Designers

Maybe a nice quiet grass cloth:

Ralph Lauren Home

Remember the famous wallpaper borders?  I probably installed a hundred yards of them over the years.

I don’t think that they have made a comeback!

…and this is too busy or too scary or both:

So, for now, I think that I will continue with my pledge for, “No more wallpaper.”  But when I see a rooms like these, I just might change my mind.

Why not repurpose a beautiful, but not priceless, commode?  A marble top and gold hardware bring incredible warmth to the niche in this bathroom.

Create and be happy!