Tags

, ,

“We Wish Ewe a Merry Christmas! “This year I have enjoyed the lambs from my childhood nativity set.  They are chalkware from the 50’s and they have been lovingly played with and admired by me for a very long time.  According to Wikipedia, “Chalk ware” is the term for popular figurines either made of molded plaster of Paris (usually) or sculpted gypsum, and painted, typically with oils or watercolors.  They were mainly made in one of two periods: the first beginning in the late 18th century and ending by the beginning of the 20th century, the second being during the Great Depression. Those made during the first period were more serious decorative art, often imitating the more expensive imported English Staffordshire potteries figurines such as Staffordshire dog figurines; those during the second period were more typically somewhat jocular. Early chalkware was often hollow and can be difficult to find unblemished.”  On my chalkware lambs you will notice some paint loss but that just means that I have loved them.

IMG_1800 (1)

I thought that they would look better if I put them under a glass dome…they might be safer when the grandchildren come.

chalkware lambs

 

sheep-set

You can see these sheep in the blog, “Cedar Hill Farmhouse.”  The author put her sheep in a dough bowl and added moss.  Very pretty!

DSC_0162

These sheep came from the toy store.  Aren’t they precious?  Look what happens when Cindy from Edith and Evelyn Vintage put them together to form a base:

DSC_0325

….just too clever

DSC_0200

Here is a whole herd.

8 Vintage CHRISTMAS NATIVITY Chalkware SHEEP Manger Creche Figures ITALY:

During this busy time, I think that it is important to remember that things with a history, even small chalkware sheep from an old nativity set can be used as Christmas decorations.  There is really no need to travel to the mall to buy more decorations.  I once saw a beautiful Christmas tree that had been decorated with baby shoes and silver baby cups.  Look around your home and see what you can pull together that has history.

Another item that I have under a glass dome is the angel that was at the top of my family Christmas tree.  Her face is cracked, but when I look at her I instantly see in my mind the tree that she graced and then the dining room where the tree stood and before you know it, I can see my father on the sofa and my mother reading in her chair.  All that came from one look at an angel.

This Christmas I hope that you have the time to travel back in time in your mind and to think of family and friends.  Remember the love and joy that you experienced when you were small.  I wish you peace and joy for 2015!