Tags

, , ,

I see by looking at the date on my last post that it has been over a month since I have written.  I really do not know where the time has gone, but I’ll have to say that I’ve been enjoying myself with company, gardening, grandchildren, redecorating, and reading.  Here is a little of what I have been up to.

First came the redecorating.  The walls in the kitchen and family room were a color called, “Golden Wheat.”  They were painted that way when we bought the house and I just did not get around to changing them then.  Finally, I decided that it was time to call in the painters.  I bought no less than seven sample jars of paint and finally I found the one that is just right….”Linen White,” by Benjamin Moore.  Here is a photo of the family room before:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought that it looked a little dark and needed to be refreshed.  Here it is with Linen White on the walls.

linen white

 

linen white 3

 

linen white 4

The Linen White looks nice in the kitchen area, too.

linen white kitchen

 

Also, I’ve been looking around at some thrift stores to see what I can see.  One day I stumbled across two really nice black and white prints that were reproductions of 1700 maps of London and Paris.  Our office needed to be changed a little, so I brought them home to hang over the computer.  Maybe they will give me some inspiration.

maps

I found a nice oil painting at a sale at my church.  It is hanging in a hall just off of the dining room.

ship oil

ship picture 2

I read a good book for Book Club!  The Art of Arranging Flowers by Lynne Branard is a beautiful novel filled with tender wisdom and unforgettable characters.  It is a good summer read!

The Art of Arranging Flowers

Our daughter and son-in-law were painting the shed in their back yard and so we volunteered to watch their little one to keep her out of the paint.  They were transforming an ordinary shed to give it some charm.

kathleen shed

I think that they have more plans for the shed.  It is still a “work in progress.”

Three weeks of my time was spent waiting for construction to be done on our loft upstairs.  We had a very large room with three walls.  The grandchildren’s crib was there but sound traveled up the stairwell and kept the babies awake.  Something had to be done!  We had our wonderful contractor put up another wall and in the process we have a new ten foot long closet!

loft construction

The wall that you see on the right was not there before.  It was just a railing.  Now, we have double doors leading into the room and double doors to a closet.  Never wake a sleeping baby!!!

And finally, I have been doing some gardening both in the yard and on the porch.  Every day I water and pamper the plants on the porch.

porch 1

 

porch 5

A thunderstorm just blew in….sideways rain and some wind.  Doesn’t look like I will have to water today.  I hope that you are enjoying your days.

Create and be happy!